Torara,My Angel!!!

17 Jul

Remember the blog entry that I had posted a long time ago?The entry where I mentioned that I was working on a manga for a certain contest?..It’s the ‘I’M BACK’ entry I posted last May 13,2011.
.
.

Well,after almost 2 months of anxiously waiting for the verdict,just last Friday (July 15,2011) a representative from the Embassy of Japan in the Philippines called me,saying that…
.
.
.
.
.
.
I WON IN THE TORARA MANGA MAKING MINI CONTEST!!!!!!!

Hahaha!!!That was an expected result!

I am an avid reader of Mangas and just looking at my work I can say that it really is a complete creation of an amateur artist!Typographical errors (because of limited time that I dashed through my work causing me to make failures),wrong shading and uneven lines :those are the things that my manga has but it’s quite decent.

So the theme is about the ‘Japan-Philippines Friendship’.It’s a quite deep theme but I have to put extra effort to come up with a nice story line and not-so complicated characters.What came into my mind is that “I have to come up with a story that can attract the attention of both kids and adults”.

Here’s the plot:

Torara,a Japanese tiger,was sent into the Philippines for a 2 week scholarship in order for him to explore the land and the details about the friendship of the 2 countries :the Philippines and Japan.

I used the technique where the starting situation of the scene was taken at the present time and Torara talking to his friend about his trip,and there the PAST enters the scene.

The press release for the contest was way back in February and the deadline for the submission was on May 20,2011.That means I have a lot of time to prepare but apparently my illness,which I call ‘The Laziness Disorder’ attacked and such precious time was wasted.I was thinking of forfeiting from the competition but a classmate of mine in AB Political Science sent me a quote.
..
..

“If Howard Schultz gave up after being turned down by banks 242 times,there would be no Starbucks.

If Walt Disney quit too soon after its theme park concept was trashed 302 times,there would be no Disneyland.

If Thomas Edison,after 9999 failures,threw his hands and gave up,there would be no electricity.
.
.
and
.
.
If YOU give up too soon,you’ll never know what you’ll be missing out of life…”

Such a meaningful message,right?Yes,I was about to give up,not only because of laziness but also because of my insecurities.The contest is open for all amateur artists,meaning lots of good participants.Here I am,just a plain college student making mangas for fun and to kill time.I don’t have any advantages for me to win in this competition.But that message boosted me up.I wouldn’t be this happy if I had forfeited.I wouldn’t be thinking that I have a talent or an achievement that I am to be proud of if I had forfeited.

Happiness and the feeling of getting near in accomplishing my dreams is what I am to lose if I had forfeited too soon.So I’m happy that I continued to believe in myself.

Here’s the catch:

Last Friday (July 15,2011) I received a call from a representative from the embassy,right?She’s asking if I am to claim my prize personally or by a representative since I am from a far away place,about 646 miles away from the city (Manila,city capital of the Philippines) where the awarding ceremony is to take place.But gladly my father granted me the permission to fly to Manila from here,General Santos City.I am to meet with a guardian upon my arrival to Manila.Whew!So excited!

Then that very next day,Saturday,I received an e-mail from the embassy stating something very interesting about my manga entry.Here’s a part of the letter:

“We are pleased to inform you that your manga entry entitled ‘Torara’s A Friendship to Remember’ has received the highest score for the Torara Manga Making Mini-Contest. “

πŸ™‚

.
.
See that?!It says that I got the highest score!..That’s a much more unbelievable thing to happen.I’m not expecting to win,but I’m not expecting to get the highest score either!
.
.
A line from my late post in the “I’M BACK” entry last May.

“I’m only using cheap stuffs like markers,sign pen and a G-tec pen.I bet that the other contestants are super good and I’m not expecting to win anyway!”
.
.
Reading this line made me realize how low my self-esteem is.But one thing is for sure.I realized that it’s not important who the other competitors are,what type of materials you are using or how amateur of an artist you can be,but what’s important is that you believe in your own skills and capabilities and how you put your whole heart into something that you really love!

Anyway,I’m really excited for my trip to Manila this Saturday (July 23,2011).I’m going home the next day,Sunday!

I don’t have much details about the prize I am to receive but whatever it is I’m proud that I was able to show my talent,the only talent that I can be proud of!.

And maybe I can meet Doraemon personally!!!..Waah~!

I’ll post the details of the event after I come back on Sunday (the 24th).
.
.
.
Everyone,don’t stop believing on yourself and grab every opportunity that comes in your way!

This is a very long post!I should stop here!lol…

Next time,everyone!!!

Lovelotz! πŸ™‚

18 Responses to “Torara,My Angel!!!”

  1. Jhunner Lagutin July 23, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

    congratulations πŸ™‚ hope to see you again next yr for a rematch perhaps hehe, you really have a talent there inside πŸ™‚

    • momoai July 24, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

      rematch?…are u in the event also or maybe a winner??..hahaha..tnx for dropping by~

      • momoai July 24, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

        ahh~!just added u sa fb..natatandaan na kita..hhehe…tatata!nxt yr! XD

  2. Ariel Viola July 24, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

    hhaha.. congrats din po πŸ™‚ hehe next time ulit mam. we hope na may next time pa. diba pareng jhunner. πŸ™‚ sana time will come na makasama kita in a project for new anime concept πŸ™‚ weeeHHH!! hehe. sana bigyan tayo ng chance maging part ng anime world πŸ˜‰ godbless

    • momoai July 25, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

      mam??hahaha…sana nga may nxt tym pa! :))
      kahit work lng man sa animation,ok na! XD GB

  3. Ariel Viola July 24, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

    mama 2nd runner up po si jhunner and im 3rd place hehe πŸ™‚ friend tayo sa fb ha hehe – ayiloveskat_7@yahoo.com. idol ka namin hehe πŸ™‚

    • momoai July 25, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

      just added u..momo massuyabu is the name :)))

    • Ariel Viola August 1, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

      mam pala hindi mama whahaha!!!!!

  4. Janer Janine July 25, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

    kaw pla yun πŸ˜€ congratss

  5. Ariel Viola July 25, 2011 at 10:15p07 #

    tara buo na tayo ng group haha!!! baka madiscover :))

    • momoai August 1, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

      serious???hahahaha….nyc idea! XD

      • Ariel Viola August 1, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

        ou nga. that’s one of my big dream. ung maging part ng mga artist πŸ™‚ nag eenjoy kana. may future pa diba hehe :)) may narecieve ka ba na message sa JICC? about sa 5th International MANGA Awards? ganda ng magiging result sa contest hehe.. sana pwede group! sa august 31 na kasi ung deadline! check mu email mo hehe. pag interesado ka. text mo ko. eto number ko. 09059126552. pero sana hindi individual. kahit group sana para magawa ng sabay sabay. kung 3-5 tayo baka kahit one week matapos natin un. pero sabi dun printed? i’m not sure haha :))

  6. Ariel Viola August 1, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

    wapak!!!!! tumawag ako sa JICC!!!! two lang pala pwede na sumali. writer and the artist.. shhh. hirap neto… haha 1 month?????? story and drawing??? i hope manalo sana kung sasali ka mam hehe… :)) haay… sayang naman. hirap kasi may work ako :))))))) goodluck πŸ™‚

  7. Ariel Viola August 1, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

    OUCH! pati pala mga artist na nakapag published na pwede pa din sumali. weeeee!!!! exciting pero hopeless kasi mga pro na kung sakali. wala naman nakalagay kung anong format. malamang colored yung ibang entry. haist…. hehe… XD

  8. Ariel Viola August 1, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

    sabagay!!! dapat di nawawalan ng pagasa!!! dapat maging proud tayo na artist talaga tayo at yun ang gusto natin!!! goodluck nalang haha!!! mag iisip na ako ng story mamaya!! wooohhhoooo hehehe ::)))
    makalibot man lang sa JAPAN for 10 AWESOME DAYS!!! haha πŸ™‚ sana friend ko nalang si DORAEMON whahaha!!! πŸ™‚

  9. Ariel Viola August 1, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

    uy master!!! bigay mu sakin number mo ha!!! text mate tayo haha joke… para man lang may contact ako sayo πŸ˜‰

    • momoai August 2, 2011 at 10:15p08 #

      grabeh…dami mu comment ah! hahaha…tsaka ui,mas matanda ka saki,wag mo ako i.mam!!kua nga dapat tawag ko sau! hahaha…
      smart ako eh,peo txt nlng kita…jyaaa~

Leave a Reply

